Detector24 vs Azure AI Content Safety
Azure AI Content Safety classifies text and images into four harm categories, hate, sexual, violence and self-harm, with severity levels, and adds prompt shields, groundedness and protected-material checks aimed at generative AI applications. It stores no inputs, trains on none, and prices at $0.375 per 1,000 text records and $0.75 per 1,000 images with a free tier of 5,000 of each a month. Detector24 covers image, video, text and audio across 25+ image categories, adds AI-generated content, deepfake and threat detection, and publishes per-model prices with 100 free moderations a month.
Information last reviewed September 7, 2026. Compared: Detector24’s published plans against Azure AI Content Safety as publicly priced for the East US region on azure.microsoft.com and documented on learn.microsoft.com, in USD.
Still shortlisting? See all alternatives to Azure AI Content Safety, including services we do not sell.
Where Detector24 and Azure AI Content Safety differ
Four categories versus a catalogue
Azure AI Content Safety returns four harm categories with severity levels, plus custom categories and blocklists limited to exact text matching; video, AI-generated image and deepfake detection are not stated, and its docs say it cannot be used to detect CSAM. Detector24 states 25+ image categories including NSFW, violence and hate symbols, text in 95+ languages, video and live-stream, audio, and separate AI image, deepfake, AI music, AI voice and threat detection.
Both delete; Azure says so most precisely
Microsoft states no input texts or images are stored in the model during detection, that user inputs are not used to train, retrain or improve the models, and that data stays in the region you chose. Detector24 no human reviewers in the loop; images are automatically deleted after analysis with no long-term storage; data residency options available. On this point the two services hold the same bar, and Azure’s documentation is the more explicit of the two.
Per-1,000 pricing with a large free tier
Azure lists a free tier of 5,000 text records and 5,000 images a month, then $0.375 per 1,000 text records and $0.75 per 1,000 images in East US, with commitment tiers from $338 a month. Detector24 lists 100 free moderations a month, monthly minimums of $99 or $599, and per-model prices with basic moderation from $0.00007 per check on higher-tier plans. Compare at your own volume and mix.
Stated latency versus a comparative claim
Under 150 ms for image moderation, under 100 ms for text, under 500 ms for video with sub-second live-stream checks, and under 300 ms for audio, as stated on each product page. Azure publishes no numeric latency for Content Safety; its FAQ states Microsoft “has the lowest latency filters of any major LLM provider”. An uptime SLA percentage for Content Safety is not stated on the pages we reviewed and lives in a downloadable Microsoft SLA document.
Detector24 and Azure AI Content Safety, side by side
| Attribute | Detector24 | Azure AI Content Safety |
|---|---|---|
| Modalities | Image, video and live-stream, text and audio moderation, plus AI-generated image detection, deepfake detection, AI music and AI voice detection, and threat detection | Text, images and multimodal image-with-text (preview), per learn.microsoft.com; video not stated; AI-generated image or deepfake detection not stated |
| Categories | Image moderation across 25+ categories including NSFW, violence and hate symbols; text moderation in 95+ languages with PII and threat detection | Four harm categories, Hate, Sexual, Violence and SelfHarm, with a 0 to 7 severity scale for text (image returns 0, 2, 4, 6); prompt shields, groundedness, protected material and custom categories; blocklists up to 10,000 terms, exact text matching only; docs state it cannot detect CSAM |
| Public pricing | Free tier with 100 moderations a month; Core from a $99 monthly minimum; Forensic from a $599 monthly minimum; per-model, per-request prices published on the pricing page, with basic content moderation from $0.00007 per check on higher-tier plans. No setup fees. | East US: Standard $0.375 per 1,000 text records (up to 1,000 characters each) and $0.75 per 1,000 images; commitment tiers of $338 a month for 1 million text records and $169 a month for 250,000 images; connected-container tiers slightly lower; prices vary by region |
| Free tier | 100 free moderations a month on the free tier | 5,000 text records and 5,000 images a month; usage stops when the free limit is reached |
| Stated speed | Under 150 ms for image moderation, under 100 ms for text, under 500 ms for video with sub-second live-stream checks, and under 300 ms for audio, as stated on each product page | No numeric latency stated; FAQ states Microsoft “has the lowest latency filters of any major LLM provider”; rate limits of 1,000 requests per 10 seconds on S0; SLA percentage not stated on the pages we reviewed |
| Stated accuracy | 98.5% accuracy stated for image moderation on detector24.ai | Transparency note: “there’s no universally applicable estimate of accuracy”; performance depends on use case and data; no independent benchmark cited |
| Submitted content handling | No human reviewers in the loop; images are automatically deleted after analysis with no long-term storage; data residency options available | No input texts or images stored during detection; inputs not used to train, retrain or improve the models; data remains in the chosen region; not made available for human review by Microsoft employees |
| Certifications stated | AICPA SOC, ISO 27001, PCI DSS, CSA STAR Level One, GDPR-compliant handling | Listed in scope for FedRAMP High and DoD IL2 in the Azure Government table; Microsoft-wide statement of “>100 compliance certifications”; Content Safety-specific SOC 2 or GDPR statements not found in the materials we reviewed |
| Human review and custom rules | None: fully automated, with per-model confidence thresholds you configure | Returns classification metadata only; Microsoft recommends supporting human judgement rather than fully automating; blocklists, custom categories (standard retiring 1 September 2026, rapid in preview), Content Safety Studio with monitoring |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Statements about what Azure AI Content Safety offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not prove it is unavailable.
Where we agree with Microsoft: nothing you send should be kept
Azure AI Content Safety’s data privacy page is the clearest statement on this page family: no inputs stored during detection, no training on customer inputs, data bound to the region you picked, no human review by Microsoft staff. Detector24 makes the same commitment in fewer words, deleting content after analysis with no long-term storage and data residency options. If your data protection officer reads one page from each vendor, these are the two.
Where the services differ is what they were built to catch. Azure AI Content Safety grew up as guardrails for generative AI: four harm categories with severity, prompt shields against jailbreaks, groundedness checks for LLM output, protected-material detection. It does not state video support, AI-generated image or deepfake detection, and its docs say it cannot detect CSAM. Detector24 was built for user-generated media: 25+ image categories, video and live-stream, audio, and separate detectors for AI-generated images, deepfakes, AI music, AI voice and threats.
The commercial difference is smaller than the functional one. Both publish prices and both offer a free tier; Azure’s free tier is larger and its per-1,000 pricing is simple, while Detector24 prices per model and publishes latency figures per modality. If you are moderating an LLM chat product on Azure already, Content Safety is the obvious primitive. If you are moderating uploads, Detector24 covers more of them.
Detector24 fits you if
- You are moderating user uploads: images across 25+ categories, video, live streams and audio
- AI-generated image, deepfake, AI music or AI voice detection is part of your requirement
- You want stated latency figures per modality
- Threat detection and 95+ text languages matter to your platform
Azure AI Content Safety may fit you if
- You are building on Azure and need guardrails for a generative AI application: prompt shields, groundedness, protected material
- Four severity-scored harm categories are enough for your policy
- A free tier of 5,000 text records and 5,000 images a month covers your pilot
- FedRAMP High or DoD IL2 scope in Azure Government is a requirement
Common questions
For user-generated media, yes. Detector24 covers image, video, text and audio with 25+ image categories and adds AI-generated content, deepfake and threat detection, with per-model prices and 100 free moderations a month on the free tier. Azure AI Content Safety is a four-category text and image classifier built mainly as guardrails for generative AI applications; if that is your use case, it is the closer fit.
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Azure AI Content Safety’s official website, pricing page and documentation, and on Detector24’s own published pricing and features, as reviewed on September 7, 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Please verify current details directly with each provider before purchasing.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which moderation setup satisfies the UK Online Safety Act, the EU Digital Services Act, US state laws or any platform policy depends on your service and your regulator’s guidance. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel.
Sources
- Azure AI Content Safety product page (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety pricing (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety overview (modalities, features) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety harm categories (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety data, privacy and security (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety FAQ (latency statement) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety transparency note (accuracy) (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure AI Content Safety blocklists (verified September 7, 2026)
- Azure services in FedRAMP audit scope (verified September 7, 2026)
- Detector24 pricing (our own published claims) (verified September 7, 2026)
Detector24 is an independent service operated by Bynn Intelligence Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Azure AI Content Safety. All third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
Related comparisons
Run the models on your own content
100 free moderations a month on the free tier. The same API, dashboard and model catalogue as the paid plans.